Sign In
We'll never share your email with anyone else.
Reset Password

Enter your email address and we'll send you a link to reset your password.

Back to Sign In
Alejandro González Iñárritu

Alejandro González Iñárritu


Alejandro González Iñárritu (American Spanish: [aleˈxandɾo gonˈsales iˈɲaritu]; credited since 2014 as Alejandro G. Iñárritu; born August 15, 1963) is a Mexican film director, producer and screenwriter. He is the first Mexican director to be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Director and the Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directing, for Babel (2007). Iñárritu's six feature films—Amores perros (2000), 21 Grams (2003), Babel (2006) (comprising the "Death Trilogy"), Biutiful (2010), Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) (2014), and The Revenant (2015)—have garnered critical acclaim and numerous accolades, including Academy Award nominations and wins. In 2015, Iñárritu won the Academy Award for Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Picture for Birdman. The following year, he won the Academy Award for Best Director for The Revenant, making him the third director to win back to back Academy Awards, and the first since 1950. He is friends with fellow Mexican directors Guillermo del Toro and Alfonso Cuarón, collectively known as "The Three Amigos of Cinema."

  • Known For: Directing
  • Birthday: 1963-08-15
  • Place of Birth: Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico [now Mexico City, Mexico]
  • Also Known As: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Алехандро Гонсалес Иньярриту, 阿利安卓·崗札雷·伊納利圖, อาเลคันโดร กอนซาเลซ อีญาร์รีตู, アレハンドロ・ゴンサレス・イニャリトゥ, أليخاندرو غونزاليز إيناريتو, 알레한드로 곤잘레스 이냐리투, 亚历杭德罗·冈萨雷斯·伊纳里图, 亚利桑德罗·冈萨雷斯·伊纳里图, 알레한드로 곤살레스 이냐리투, 亚历杭德罗·冈萨雷斯·伊尼亚里图